Skip to content

Join the Fight Against Cancer

May 10, 2013

Happy (almost) Mother’s Day.

16 years ago my mom was diagnosed with an aggressive form of breast cancer. She wasted no time in pursuing very thorough medical treatments, including a mastectomy and chemo. Six months later she was back at work, holding down a mortgage, cooking for her family, and putting me through college. I didn’t miss a single semester.

I talked to her just a minute ago. She’s at work providing excellent customer service as usual. She loves her husband, her three sons, and her three grandsons. She’s a good time and a helluva cook. Everyone she meets is inspired by her loving, giving spirit. She is, in a word, incredible.

I’m not the superhero that my mom is, but I’ll be damned if I can’t do something awesome in her honor. I can’t cure cancer, but I can join the fight. In true BMG fashion I will do it by issuing a challenge. Ladies and gentlemen, allow me to introduce:

The BMG Hair Donation Challenge

I haven’t cut my hair in over a year (a picture of my ponytail is forthcoming). I’m going to grow 10 inches worth of my own luxurious hair (it’s a beautiful shade I call “Café Americano”) and donate it to Locks of Love, a nonprofit organization that provides wigs to children who have lost their hair for medical reasons. They have a great web page with information about donating hair.  Sometime soon some brave little hero(s) will be rocking my “Café Americano” and feeling better about him/herself. BMG WIN!

If the idea of long hair is starting to grow on you (har-har), consider growing it for a good cause. Or maybe you’re thinking about chopping your already-long mane for the summer. Chop it off and send it along.

If long hair is not your style, you can always donate to the American Cancer Society. I’m sure they appreciate any amount. I’m not affiliated with either organization, I just want to support what they’re doing. If you feel the same, consider helping as you feel led.

Best health and wishes to all the mothers out there.

-BMG

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Rod Cathey permalink
    May 28, 2013 8:31 pm

    Donate $ ? Yes, I can do that.

    The hair thing? Not so much. I already donated it…to cancer.

    I agree with everything you said about your mom! What an inspiring and positive, encouraging person she is!!

    • May 28, 2013 8:34 pm

      thank you for the kind words, i will pass them along. you are another miracle of healing for which i am grateful. we can beat this thing!

Leave a comment